Nicolaus Copernicus University creates the European University of the Future


The Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun within the international consortium Young Universities for the Future of Europe – YUFE will create the first European University open to everyone.

YUFE is one of 17 consortia of universities selected by the European Commission to develop and implement a model European University. At the beginning of the year, the YUFE consortium presented its concept to the European Commission and now it has received the green light to implement its action plan. Preparations for the launch of the European University are planned for the next three years.

The main YUFE partners are Maastricht University (coordinator) – the Netherlands; Carlos III University of Madrid – Spain; University of Antwerp – Belgium; University of Bremen – Germany; University of Cyprus – Cyprus; University of Eastern Finland – Finland; University of Essex – United Kingdom and University of Rome Tor Vergata – Italy.

Higher education