Polish-French Scientific Award granted


Dr Marcin Szwed, Prof. Laurent Cohen, Prof. Jakub Zakrzewski and Dr Dominique Delande received the first Polish-French Maria Skłodowska and Pierre Curie Scientific Award. The award was granted for outstanding scientific achievements resulting from cooperation between scientists from Poland and France.

Cognitive scientist Marcin Szwed from the Institute of Psychology of the Jagiellonian University (UJ) in Kraków and neurologist Laurent Cohen from the Institute of Brain and Spinal Cord Research (Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle épinière, ICM) were awarded for innovative research on the processes occurring in the brain while reading.

Physicists Jakub Zakrzewski from the Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science of the Jagiellonian University and Dominique Delande from the National Center for Scientific Research in France (CNRS) received the award for achievements in physics of quantum-mechanical systems.

The Polish-French Scientific Award was established in 2019 by the Foundation for Polish Science, the Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Innovation (MESRI) in France, and the French Academy of Sciences.